Resolution and Typhoid Vaccination

IMG_1141

I may not have the most advance English vocabulary a Malay should have. My grammar is all over the place berterabur macam budak darjah satuu..darjah satuu…. But I am determine to write in English, talk with myself in English whenever I am driving alone, listening to English song, reading an English book, and everything English I could get my hands on. If you are reading this, and you are teaching English, or used to live abroad, or your family first language at home is English, or you are dating an Englishman with a British accent like Bond or whatev, well good for you. I am trying my best and please don’t judge thank you. Hehe.. Tun Mahathir said, if you want to somehow improve your English, at least try to think in English. I am thinking now…and talking to myself in my head while my hands type everything down.

IMG_1134

Whenever new year come, some people will always set their own resolution for that year. Make it to be thinner than their skeleton self already is now, or trying to learn how to cook because they are getting married next year by watching TLC and AFC on repeat, or determine to save some of that monthly salary for that big Euro tour scheduled on January 2016, I myself never had set any resolution for new year. Not that I can think of. Or maybe I had. But totally lost it by the time the first week of the new year ended, because i don’t really put my heart and my mind into it. Because I know, setting things out and really trying hard to follow them is not gonna cut it for me, unless that thing is what my heart really wants. The heart wants what it wants, you must have heard that one from Selena.

IMG_1155

 What I did most of the time was, setting the goal of my life, what I wanted to achieve and strive hard towards making that into a reality. For all these years, some of those goals went down the drain, had to be aborted due to lack of willpower and luck, but some of the them really fall into their rightful places I have planned beforehand and more Alhamdulillah.. But one thing for sure, sharing the same goal and passion with those who are close to you and work together achieving the same dream is much more special, stronger and meaningful. Never take your eyes away from the price, no matter how tough or how long the journey will take you. Sure there will always be obstacles but that what makes it more exciting. Try to see everything positively and Insyaallah…you can face anything!

IMG_1146

  IMG_1145

We are in the midst of setting things up for our shop now, we are so excited beyond words Alhamdulillah but at the same time we know that there are millions of things to do, to calculate, to tag, to discuss, to paint, to decide, to count…. our house looks like a mad house with machineries, equipments, new stocks, air conds, partitions, mixers, ovens, chillers, etc in and around our house. If am my neighbour, i would think that this house homed a hoarder couple and that the inside of the house is smelly, out of place, trashes everywhere, rats and cockroaches make this house their own Michelin star restaurant, the sink and toilet are filthy of unwanted ‘miscellaneous’. God forbid, we are not that kind of people NO! I bake everyday for lots of my customers and I know that cleanliness is the main priority whenever it comes to making food. I will try my best to clean up, wash those dishes, pour hot water into the sink every now and then so that those butter and cream will melt away easily, disinfect my counter after every use, store my baking ingredients in airtight container and such. Those things you see hoarding our front yard are temporary, until the shop is ready.

IMG_1154

Since we are already registered under SSM (NS0139800-V), we will be taking the Typhoid Vaccine which is currently compulsory for all Food and Beverages handlers under the Malaysian Food Act 1983 and Food Hygiene Regulation 2009. You might think that this shot is nothing important but get this : Typhoid fever is a life-threatening illness caused by bacteria called Salmonella Typhi.  It causes high fever, fatigue, weakness, stomach pains, headache, loss of appetite, and sometimes rashes. If it is not treated, about 30% of people who get it might die. Some people who get typhoid become “carriers,” who can spread the disease to others. Generally, people get typhoid from contaminated food or water. So we really don’t wanna get infected with that ugly disease now, do we?

IMG_1150

So here are cakes I made for a lovely girl who are already engaged by now with the man who is obsessed with Superman. He reminds me of Faizal OIAM, who wears Superman t shirt and belt every time he performs. She wants it to be a Superman cake, with bling all over, for it will be ‘engagement worthy’ she said, so it will stand pretty on the dulang hantaran. Whatever you wish, darl. And I hope you really did surprised someone with the Louis Vuitton Speedy handbag. I hope I did this legendary iconic handbag justice it deserves. And in case you didn’t already realize, we use the same type of transparent box every time for hantaran, the one you saw boxed that Superman cake. As oppose to the usual transparent box that is plastic all over and can get a little wobbly, this one we have right here has a hard paper base, that is sturdy enough to hold any cake inside.

So, till next entry!

Leave a comment